Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler System at UTMSI Pier (Part 3)

I lost the communication with the current meter one day, and checked all connections. Alas! The cable feeding to the current meter was loose in water. When I pulled in the cable for more detailed checking, I found that the cable connector was severed in half! I don’t know why these things keep happening to me. I powered down the instrument and terminated the program. Don’t know the cause. It’s time for diagnosis and repair. Not so fun.  (0910)

The diagnosis and repair processes went on for another long months. We had to re-splice the cable several times due to connection problem. I once borrowed the same kind cable from Texas A&M group to test communication with the instrument and the software. I was able to save the data during the deployment as I am using the instrument in real-time mode with recording data both on computer hard disk and the instrument’s internal memory. No luck in establishing connection with the instrument again. Is the cable still bad or the instrument fried? (0912)

The profiler had to be sent to the Nortek technician in MA. He confirmed that the RS232 circuit was toast. Great. It was shorted when the cable connector was cut in half in water. The repair can only be done in their Norway factory. Sigh… (1001)

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 1.10.42 PM

